class of 2018

Class of 2019

Welcome to the Class of 2019!

This is the Class of Climate Change. Fusion Energy has been thought of as the “HOLY GRAIL” of energy with infinite fuel, no carbon emissions and less and shorter-term radwaste compared to fission energy. Fusion Groups are focused on containing the plasma required to replicate the thermonuclear conditions of the sun, including magnetic confinement, inertial confinement and magnetized target fusion.

WORLD-GEN is pleased and proud to nominate the visionary fusion entrepreneurs into our 20th Class of the millenium starting with Jesse Treu who formed the Stellar Energy Foundation to bring on fusion energy to make an impact on climate change.

Jane Hotchkiss co-founded Pegasus Fusion Strategies to share her experience in renewables as a consultant to fusion energy.

Steven Cowley is the Director of the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory (PPPL) devoted to developing solutions for fusion energy.

Bernard Bigot is Director-General of ITER, the first-of-a kind global collaboration of 35 countries to construct First Plasma in 2025.

Ahmed Diallo is deputy director of the DOE’s INFUSE program so fusion companies can use the national labs.

Bob Mumgaard is CEO of Commonwealth Fusion Systems aimed at developing the world’s first net energy gain fusion system with MIT.

Michl Binderbauer heads up TAE Technologies that christened “Norman”, a 100 million dollar machine replacing the C-2U experiment.

Christofer Mowry is the CEO of General Fusion that is using an approach referred to as Magnetized Target Fusion (MTF).

Nick Hawker is the Co-Founder and CEO of First Light Fusion, Ltd., spun out from the University of Oxford.

Ian Baird is managing director of Mott MacDonald collaborating with First Light Fusion on a fusion reactor.

E. Michael Campbell is Director of Laboratory for Laser Energetics at the University of Rochester to support the NICF program.

Jonathan Carling is CEO of Tokamak Energy creating a way for a small modular fusion reactor to supply the National Grid.

David Kirtley is founder and CEO of Helion Energy developing a 50MW scale system using Magneto-Inertial Fusion power technology.

F. Douglas Witherspoon is CEO and Chief Scientist of HyperJet Fusion developing Plasma-Jet driven Magneto-Inertial Fusion.

Derek Sutherland is CEO of CT Fusion, a spin-off company from the University of Washington resulting from HIT-SI research projects.

Andrew Holland is executive director of the 19 member Fusion Industry Association based in Washington, DC.

World-Gen welcomes Letters to the Editor.
Please email with your comments.

Classes index